Frequently Asked Questions
How much medical cannabis will I be able to have?
Qualifying patients may possess up to 2.5 ounces of medical cannabis in a 14-day period from an authorized medical cannabis dispensary.
How much will it cost to apply for a registry identification card?
This fee will be established in the administrative rules being developed by the Illinois Department of Public Health. The Department has 120 days from the effective date (January 1, 2014) to develop the rules and criteria that will apply to the patient registry. At that time (approximately May 1, 2014), these rules will be filed with the Illinois General Assembly's Joint Committee on Administrative Rules (JCAR) for review and public comment.
When will the Illinois Department of Public Health begin issuing registry identification cards?
A date has not yet been determined. The effective date of the act is January 1, 2014. Before issuing registration cards, the Illinois Department of Public Health must adopt administrative rules, set registration fees, and develop the process to receive and process registrations. Any date for issuing registry identification cards will take into account the time needed to complete these tasks.
Where do I send my application for a registry identification card?
Do not send any information at this time. The Illinois Department of Public Health is currently building the necessary infrastructure to implement the law, including the development of a registration process for patients and caregivers. The Department will issue registry identification cards to patients and designated caregivers once the administrative rules for the program are adopted.
What debilitating medical conditions qualify me for medical cannabis?
Debilitating medical conditions include 40 chronic diseases and conditions: cancer, glaucoma, positive status for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS), hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Crohn's disease, agitation of Alzheimer's disease, cachexia/wasting syndrome, muscular dystrophy, severe fibromyalgia, spinal cord disease (including but not limited to arachnoiditis), Tarlov cysts, hydromyelia syringomyelia, Rheumatoid arthritis, fibrous dysplasia, spinal cord injury, traumatic brain injury and post concussion syndrome, Multiple Sclerosis, Arnold-Chiari malformation and Syringomelia, Spinocerebellar Ataxia (SCA), Parkinson's Disease, Tourette Syndrome, Myoclonus, Dystonia, Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy, RSD (Complex Regional Pain Syndromes Type I), Causalgia, CRPS (Complex Regional Pain Syndrome Type II), Neurofibromatosis, Chronic inflammatory Demyelinating Polyneuropathy, Chronic Inflammatory Demyelinating Polyneuropathy, Sjogren's Syndrome, Lupus, Interstitial Cystitis, Myasthenia Gravis, Hydrocephalus, nail-patella syndrome or residual limb pain; or the treatment of these conditions.
What if my medical condition is not listed?
According to the act, any person may petition the Illinois Department of Public Health to add debilitating conditions or treatments to the list of conditions included in the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program. The Department will develop a process for considering the petitions, including public notice and hearing.
Where can I smoke medical cannabis?
A registered qualifying patient will be able to smoke medical cannabis in places where the smoking of traditional tobacco products is allowed. Smoking medical cannabis is prohibited in any public place where an individual could reasonably be expected to be observed by others, in a health care facility or any other place where smoking is prohibited by the Smoke-free Illinois Act.
I am visiting Illinois and have a medical cannabis registry card from my home state. May I participate in the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program?
No. Only Illinois residents who meet the program requirements will qualify to participate in the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program.
My child has a debilitating medical condition. Can he/she apply to be a registered qualifying patient?
No. The law does not permit the Illinois Department of Public Health to issue registry identifications cards to qualifying patients under age 18.
For more information, please visit the Medical Cannabis Pilot Program website.
Illinois Department of Public Health
Office of Health Promotion
Bureau of Medical Cannabis