## Illinois Department of Public Health Alzheimer's Disease Advisory Committee

Meeting Summary Approved April 10, 2008

December 13, 2007 9:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Room 530 Sippy Searle Conference Center Professional Building, 5<sup>th</sup> Floor 1725 W. Harrison Chicago, Illinois

## Attendees

Members David Bennett, MD Janice Cichowlas, JD, PhD, (IDoA) Jerome Epplin, MD **Carolyn Hicks** Jane Kessler, RN, MA (IDPH) Dennis McManus, MD M-Marsel Mesulam, MD Dr. Mary Milano (GAC) Darby Morhardt, MSW Mary Nagy, RN, MS Christopher Randolph, PhD Sharon Roberts, RN, BSN, NHA, MA Shirley Whitcup, RN (DHFS) Phyllis Schwebke, LNHA John Smith

Guests Tom Ala, MD, SIU School of Medicine Xiangying Chang, MD, MS, SIU School of Medicine Erna Colborn, Alzheimer's Association Jay Gottfried, MD, PhD, Northwestern University Ling Guo, MD, MS, Northwestern University Greg Kyrouac, SIU School of Medicine Hayat Onyuksel, PhD, University of Illinois at Chicago Raj Shah, MD, Rush Alzheimer's Disease Center Sreepadma Sonty, PhD, Northwestern University Bob Struble, PhD, SIU School of Medicine Val Young, Rush Alzheimer's Disease Center

The Alzheimer's Disease Advisory Committee met at 9:30 a.m. on December 13, 2007 at the Searle Conference Center in Chicago. After roll call, welcoming remarks and introductions, the minutes from the June 28, 2007 meeting were approved.

Handouts for the meeting included the agenda, Revenue Service Income Tax Check-Off report, FY 2009 time line, list of the FY 2007 Alzheimer's Disease Research Fund (ADRF) recipients, Senate Joint Resolution (SJR) 43, list of SJR 43 subcommittees and responsibilities, SJR 43 proposed time line, Alzheimer's Disease Assistance Plan (2003 – 2006) and ADRF contribution publicity letter and flyer.

Reports were provided by the six FY 2007 ADRF recipients – five in person and one written. Reports from the Alzheimer s Disease Assistance Centers were presented. A brief question and answer period was offered after each presentation. Copies of the reports are on file and available on request.

Per request of the Advisory Committee at the June 28, 2007 meeting, IDPH provided a report on the Center funding formula. IDPH did not have and was unable to get information on the rationale or justification for the funding formula. A copy of the report is on file and available on request.

Reports from state agencies providing programs and services directed toward persons with Alzheimer's disease and related dementias (ADRD) were provided as required by Public Act 93-939. Staff from the Department on Aging, Department of Healthcare and Family Services (HFS), Guardianship and Advocacy Commission and the Department of Public Health provided reports. A report was requested from the Department of Human Services, but was not received. HFS staff also presented a fiscal report for the AD Centers as required by Public Act 93-20. Reports are on file and available on request.

SJR 43 and the required report due January 1, 2009 were discussed. Alzheimer's Association staff provided a history of SJR 43. Seven subcommittees, based on required content, were activated. A timeline for completing the report was presented. To provide needed expertise, the Advisory Committee wants ad hoc community members to be recruited for the subcommittees with the requirement that subcommittee chairs must be Advisory Committee members. Information about nursing homes will be added to the report and the responsibility of the Special Care Units and Assisted Living Subcommittee. The Alzheimer's Association will provide at least one staff person or volunteer for each subcommittee. Advisory Committee members and guests volunteered as outlined in the following table.

Subcommittees	Advisory Committee Members	Guests
AD Population Trends and Needs	Dennis McManus, MD (chair)	
	Darby Morhardt, MSW	
	John Smith	
Home and Community-based	Jan Cichowlas, PhD, JD (co-chair)	Greg Kyrouac
Resources	Carolyn Hicks (co-chair)	
	Darby Morhardt, MSW	
	John Smith	
Special Care Units, Assisted Living	Phyllis Schwebke, LNHA	Greg Kyrouac
and Nursing Homes		
Geriatric-Psychiatric Units	Christopher Randolph, PhD	Raj Shah, MD
Public Safety and Law Enforcement	Mary Nagy, RN, MS (chair)	Tom Ala, MD
	Dr. Mary Milano	
Center Review	Christopher Randolph, PhD (chair)	Tom Ala, MD
	David Bennett, MD	Erna Colburn
	Dennis McManus, MD	
	MMarsel Mesulam, MD	
	Darby Morhardt, MSW	
Research	David Bennett, MD (chair)	Bob Struble, PhD
	MMarsel Mesulam, MD	
	Christopher Randolph, MD	

IDPH staff will recruit additional subcommittee members by contacting absent Advisory Committee members and working with the Alzheimer's Association and Centers. Members may recommend additional ad hoc members. Subcommittees can meet via teleconference. The subcommittee reports will be sent to IDPH for Advisory Committee review before the meeting scheduled for August 21, 2008 in Chicago.

IDPH staff provided the following updates.

- The Alzheimer's Disease Assistance Plan (2003 2006) as required by the AD Assistance Act has been published. A copy was provided as a handout and is also posted on the Department's Web site.
- Nominations for the Advisory Committee vacancies have been submitted and appointments are pending.
- ADRF FY 2009 applications are due January 17, 2008 and will be sent out for peer review and to the Advisory Committee for review.
- The FY 2009 time line (handout) includes the 2008 calendar year meeting dates.

The next meeting is scheduled for April 10, 2008 in the Pearson Museum, Southern Illinois University School of Medicine in Springfield. The main agenda item will be review of the FY 2009 Alzheimer's Disease Research Fund.