## Illinois Department of Public Health Alzheimer's Disease Advisory Committee Meeting Summary April 10, 2008

Attendance Members

Guests

David Bennett, MD
Tom Berkshire
Jerome Epplin, MD
Jane Kessler, IDPH
Dennis McManus, MD
Darby Morhardt, MSW
Mary Nagy, RN, MS
Donald Pearson, MD
Sharon Roberts, RN, BSN, NHA, MA
John M. Smith
Orlinda Workman, LSW, MSW

Tom Ala, MD, SIU Greg Bellaver, SIU Liane Jared, Intern at Egyptian AAA Curt Moore, SIU Maria Schmidt, Alz. Assoc.

Handouts: agenda, December 13, 2007 meeting summary, Alzheimer's Disease Research Fund (ADRF) score/rank form, draft by-laws and FY 2010 timeline

The Alzheimer's Disease Advisory Committee (Committee) met on April 10, 2008 from 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. in the Pearson Museum, Southern Illinois University, School of Medicine. After the welcoming remarks, the names of new members appointed in April 2008 were read (Robert Moss, MD, Judith Hertz, RN, PhD, Tom Berkshire, Erna Colborn and Donald Pearson, MD). The two new members in attendance were acknowledged followed by roll call/introductions.

The December 13, 2007 meeting summary was approved as presented.

There is currently about \$195,000 available in the ADRF for FY 2009 awards with a \$350,000 appropriation. Members were reminded that the amount that can be awarded is limited by the amount available in the ADRF.

A motion was made and seconded to adopt the NIH (National Institutes of Health) review process and triage applications with poorer Peer Review average scores to expedite the review process, but allowing Committee members to request review of any triaged application. After a brief discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

A motion was made and seconded to triage all FY 2009 applications with a Peer Review average score over 2.5 (1 = outstanding, 2 = excellent, 3 = satisfactory, 4 = fair, 5 = poor). After discussion of the number of applications this would triage from review, the motion passed unanimously. Eight applications were triaged and will not be reviewed unless specifically requested by a Committee member.

Each of the 10 remaining FY 2009 ADRF applications with Peer Review averages scores of 2.5 and above were reviewed and discussed with individual application scores recorded by each member on their score/rank form. At the beginning of the review, a question was raised regarding the same researcher being funded for different projects, but several years in succession. The rules do not restrict the number of times a researcher can receive an award. As each application was discussed, any member(s) with a conflict of interest left the room. After all of the applications were reviewed, members completed their score/rank forms before submission to the Department. Review forms were collected. No committee member requested discussion/review of any of the triaged applications.

IDPH staff presented a request by the Peer Review Panel to have future applications submitted and sent for review electronically.

Brief reports of the seven Senate Joint Resolution 43 Subcommittees were given. All but three of the subcommittees have met and are compiling data for their respective reports. Subcommittee reports are due to the Department on August 12, 2008 and will be sent to the Committee for review before the August 21, 2008 meeting.

A motion was made and seconded to table discussion and adoption of the by-laws until the next meeting because the five new members should have an opportunity to review them and participate in the adoption process. There was no discussion and the motion passed unanimously.

There were three resignations from the Committee in April and nominations were requested from members. The vacancies are "representative of insurance industry," "general public" and "general public over age 65." Staff has received a nomination for the "representative of insurance industry" from the member who resigned from that categorical position. Nominations should be submitted as soon as possible.

The next meeting will be on August 21, 2008 from 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM at Rush.

The Committee was thanked for their assistance and the meeting adjourned at 1:00 p.m.