Call to order, Cheryl Colbenson at 11:40am

Roll Call

Present: Kevin Bernard, Robert Biggins, Kevin Buhs, Charlene Cioe, Cheryl Colbenson, Lesley Cranick, Jack Franaszek, Randy Faxon, Angela Holbrook, Jennifer Kinzinger-Casey, Missy Mallory, Maureen Matthews, Mary Ann Miller, Leslee Stein-Spencer,

Absent: Mark Alberts, John Brennan, Cyd Gajewski, Michael Schneck, Sharon Summers, Debbi Waters, Bradley Wood

Proxy: None.

We do have a quorum for this meeting.

New Business – EMS

• Mission Statement of the State Stroke Advisory Subcommittee Mission Statement subcommittee discussion. Charlene Cioe made motion and Lesley Cranick seconded that Mission Statement be decided by subcommittee. All in favor, none opposed. Mission statement subcommittee chair motion by Cheryl Colbenson to be Charlene Cioe and seconded by Leslee Stein-Spencer. All in favor and none opposed. Randy Faxon and Keith Buhs will be on this subcommittee.

Draft document of Bylaws distributed by Cheryl Colbenson to subcommittee members. Work through bylaws with everyone on the State Stroke Advisory subcommittee. Review and give feedback through e-mail and make a decision at the next scheduled meeting.

Members of the committee that may not show up for meetings, we need a policy that if you miss a certain number of meetings and what the policy needs to be. Jack discussed the electronic attendance at meetings pursuant to Open Meetings Act; bylaws should address these issues.

Establish Chair, co-chair and secretary for this subcommittee. Motion by Jack Franaszek to be co-chair and seconded by Leslee Stein-Spencer and all in Favor. Lesley Cranick volunteered to be the secretary and Mary Ann Miller and Charlene Cioe seconded and all in favor. Motion by Mary Ann Miller that Cheryl Colbenson be the chair and seconded by Kevin Bernard and all in favor.

Discussion regarding positions that still need to be filled on the subcommittee. Hospital administrator from primary designated is in the works, Region 1 is still open and needs a representative assigned, a fire chief from rural EMS region has no one that has volunteered.

Missy Mallory suggested a Fire Chief in Putnam County, Andy Jackson and will provide his contact information to Sheila Gerber.

• Proposed Rules

6-9 months to get rules through IDPH legal and JCAR noted by Jack.

Future Meeting Dates

- By-monthly meetings and call in options because of bad weather.
- January 24, 2012 next meeting date. Jennifer @ Carle in Champaign. 12pm-2pm Leslee Stein-Spencer, Randy Faxon and Mary Ann Miller note that face-to-face is more productive especially until rules are complete.
- January 24, 2012 meeting will discuss year's next meeting dates, times and locations.

Call for Public Comment

Bridget McCarte distributed a handout, "Public Act 96-514 Illinois Stroke Law" and a document which is on their website regarding stroke law guidance for healthcare and hospitals about the law, what it does. Bridget read from statute "Section 3.117 Hospital Designations – Definitions, page 10, a) through g) – the seven criteria to be Emergent Stroke Ready.

Jack Fleeharty distributed the State Statute, House Bill 2244. At next meeting there should be a presentation/overview regarding the draft administrative rules. IDPH can give proposed draft rules to committee members only; they are to remain confidential to committee members and not for public distribution. Rules go from subcommittee, to IDPH legal, Governor's office, EMS advisory council, back to IDPH Legal and filed for 1st Notice with JCAR.

Primary Stroke Centers versus Emergent Stroke Ready EDs discussion, no hierarchy.

Greg Scott addressed issues of the availability of ALS providers to do transfers with patients on established thrombolytic drips and questioned if rural hospitals would need to provide nursing staff. Discussion ensued regarding some of these issues.

Discussions ensued regarding training and increased availability of stroke training. There is a consensus that the availability of this training needs to be broadened throughout the state.

Motion to adjourn by Cheryl Colbenson; seconded by Leslee Stein-Spencer. Meeting was adjourned at 2:10p.m.