

525-535 West Jefferson Street • Springfield, Illinois 62761-0001 • www.idph.state.il.us

**TO:** Plumbing Code Advisory Council Members

**FROM:** Ken McCann, Chair – Plumbing code Advisory Council

**DATE:** May 28, 2014

SUBJECT: Minutes-April 28, 2014 Plumbing Code Advisory Council Meeting

### **Attendance and Meeting Location**

The meeting began at 10:04 a.m. on April 28, 2014 at the Illinois Department of Natural Resources, Illinois State Fairgrounds, One Natural Resources Way, Springfield, Illinois.

The following were in attendance:

#### IDPH Staff

Justin DeWitt, Chief, General Engineering Section Frank Shimkus, Manager, Plumbing Program Mark Kuechler, Champaign Regional Supervisor Rhonda Hawkins, Administrative Assistant

### Plumbing Code Advisory Council Members

Linc Cochran Jeremiah Deakin Dennis Doolan Doyle James James Majerowicz David Menzel Beverly Potts Gerald Tienstra

### <u>Guests</u>

Len Fassett Dick Tjaden

### Welcome and Introductions

Justin DeWitt introduced himself and welcomed everyone. A roll call was performed and quorum established.

### <u>Motions</u>

- A motion was made to approve the meeting agenda by Gerald Tienstra and seconded by David Menzel.
- The motion carried by a unanimous voice vote.
- A motion was made by Gerald Tienstra to approve the March 24, 2014 meeting minutes and seconded by Bev Potts.
- The motion carried by a unanimous voice vote.

# **Discussion Items**

- Justin DeWitt opened the floor for public comment; however, there was none.
- Justin DeWitt- States that the JCAR process is over; the Department filed the final draft with Secretary of State on Thursday, April 24, 2014. This process will take a couple of weeks and once finalized can be found on <a href="https://www.ilga.gov">www.ilga.gov</a> website.
- Justin DeWitt- Raised discussion on how the Department will distribute the new code changes. Either by mobile website, and application to download and/or a PDF version provided on the Department's website. Justin DeWitt discusses the options to for charging the current \$40 fee to order a code book.
- Justin DeWitt discussed that the Department will discontinue distribution of the old code book once the new code is made available.
- Group raised discussion on whether the Department would offer the new code outlining the changes made. Justin DeWitt suggests that the board compare their first, second and final notice changes in order to know what changes have been made.
- Justin DeWitt discussed the possibility of having a two day orientation in June on the new code changes with the State inspectors.
- Justin DeWitt thanks the PCAC board for their support through the process of amending the 890 rules.
- Justin DeWitt discusses that the 890 rules which are due to be published on the Illinois Register no later than Friday, April 25, 2014.
- Justin DeWitt discusses the possibility of producing another update to the 890 code by the end of this calendar year.
- Bev Potts raises discussion about adding UIN numbers for unemployment insurance to the Contractor Registration form.
- Justin DeWitt announces to PCAC board that Tammy Pritchett is leaving the Plumbing Program effective April 30, 2014.
- Representatives from JOSAM Repco Associates, Inc. presented on "push fit" stainless steel drainage system

- Jim Majerowicz distributed a draft of proposed changes to the 890 code Appendix A.
- Group raised discussion on the language of section 890.730 (floor and trench drains). It was decided to continue discussion at the next scheduled PCAC meeting in June.
- Justin DeWitt discusses adding action items to the June 2<sup>nd</sup> meeting agenda: Product demonstration and the draft of the 890 code changes presented by Jim Majerowicz.
- Justin DeWitt discusses with the board tentative meeting dates for the remainder of this calendar year.
- Gerald Tienstra asks the board to add Section 890 Table B on non single family dwelling to the June 2<sup>nd</sup> meeting discussion topics.

# Meeting adjourned

Gerald Tienstra motioned to adjourn, seconded by David Menzel. Meeting was adjourned by voice vote at 12:00 p.m.