In accordance with the Lead Poisoning Prevention Code, Section 845.27, the Illinois Department of Public Health (Department) shall license persons desiring to serve as a lead worker. Lead worker licenses expire March 31 of each year. To qualify for a license each applicant shall:
All license applicants shall successfully complete a Department approved initial lead training course. The initial training course shall have been completed within three years of the date this application is received. If the initial training course certificate is more than three years old but less than four years old, the applicant shall submit a Department approved refresher certificate indicating no lapse in training in accordance with Section 845.27 (a)(1) of the Lead Poisoning Prevention Code. If the training course certificate is more than four years old, the applicant shall complete a Department approved initial lead training course that discipline. All training courses shall be verified with the training course provider.
CHILD SUPPORT STATEMENT
5 ILCS 100 Section 10-65 (c) of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act requires individual licensees to certify whether they are delinquent in payment of child support. All applicants shall comply with this Act. Applicants shall complete and sign the child support statement on the license application. Failure to complete this statement will result in an incomplete application and a delay in issuing the license. Making a false statement may place you in contempt of court.
PUBLIC INFORMATION DISCLOSURE
The Public Information Disclosure form accompanying this application must be completed and returned to this office to allow the Department to release your contact information. ONLY those lead abatement workers who complete this form and return it to this office will be included in Department lists. The Public Information Disclosure form is incorporated into all license applications and training course provider approval applications to address the release of contact information to the general public.
Each applicant for licensure who is licensed or certified in another state may request reciprocal licensure. The Department may evaluate the requirements for licensure in such state and may issue the license if the Department determines that the requirements for licensure in such other state are equal to or greater than the requirements for licensure in Illinois. Each applicant for licensure shall submit a completed application, a photograph, the appropriate fee(s), verification from such state of passing a third party exam, and copies of USEPA or other state approved training certificates. If the initial training certification is from another state, the applicant shall complete a Department approved refresher course before the license shall be renewed.
All licenses shall be renewed annually. Lead worker licenses expire on March 31 of each year, except licenses issued after December 31 and before April 1 shall expire on following March 31. Renewal applications received after March 1, shall pay a $15.00 late fee in addition to the application fee for a total of $40.00
All applicants shall submit a completed renewal application including the completed child support statement and Public Information Disclosure form, the renewal application fee, a recent 1" x 1" photograph of the applicant, and copies of the Department approved training certificate(s) in accordance with the training certification requirements above.
REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSES
An applicant whose licenses has been expired for a period less than 3 years may apply to the Department for reinstatement of his license. The Department shall issue such reinstated license provided the applicant pays to the Department all lapsed license fees, a reinstatement fee of $15.00 and submit a copy of a current certificate. An applicant whose license that has been expired for more than 3 years shall submit a new application and meet all license requirements.
Failure to provide all the requested information will result in administrative action to deny the license. All fees are non-refundable. Please submit all applications to the Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Environmental Health, Lead Program 525 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, Illinois 62761. If you have any questions please contact the Division of Environmental Health, Lead Program, 217-782-3517, TTY # 800-547-0466.
of Public Health
535 West Jefferson Street
Springfield, Illinois 62761
Questions or Comments