
QUALIFICATIONS FOR ASBESTOS WORKER LICENSE 
 

In accordance with the Asbestos Abatement Act and Code, and the Commercial and Public Building 
Asbestos Abatement Act (Public Act 89-143, effective July 14, 1995) the Illinois Department of Public 
Health (IDPH) shall license persons desiring to serve as asbestos workers in Illinois public and non-
public school facilities (grades one through twelve), and commercial and public buildings.  The IDPH 
asbestos worker license allows you to conduct asbestos worker activities in commercial and public 
buildings, as well as schools. 
 

GENERAL LICENSING INFORMATION 
All licenses shall expire on February 1 of each year.  Licenses issued on October 31 or before will 
expire February 1 of the coming year.  Licenses issued on November 1 or after will expire February 1 
of the following year.  (EXAMPLE: Applicants whose licenses are issued on October 31 will be issued 
a license for 3 months.  Applicants whose licenses are issued November 1 will be issued a license for 1 
year and 3 months.)   
 
To become an Illinois Department of Public Health licensed asbestos worker, the applicant shall:  
1. Be at least 18 years of age. 
2. Submit a completed and signed application including the child support statement (enclosed). 
3. Submit a $25.00 check or money order made payable to the Illinois Department of Public Health. This 

fee is NOT REFUNDABLE.  
4. Submit one 1" x 1" photograph of applicant (head and shoulders only) with the full name of the  

applicant on the back of the photograph.  The photograph shall be an original, clear, current and color 
picture of the applicant.  The license will not be issued without the identifying photograph. 

5. Submit an IDPH accredited initial training course certificate for asbestos worker or  
contractor/supervisor.  If the initial training course certificate has expired the applicant shall also include 
copies of IDPH accredited refresher training course certificates for each year indicating no lapse in 
training.  The applicant shall complete the same type of refresher course as initial course. 

6. In accordance with the requirements of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act, 5 ILCS 100, 
the Department of Public Health requires the disclosure of your social security number as part of the 
license application.  Failure to provide your social security number shall result in the denial of your 
license application. 

 
Duplicate licenses are obtained by submitting a written request to the Department for a duplicate license 
with a photograph of the licensee and  a $15.00 check or money order.   A duplicate license will not be 
issued if the training course certificate is expired.  Any changes in the licensee's name or address must be 
submitted in writing.  



Training courses completed March 12, 1999, or after shall be accredited by the 
Illinois Department of Public Health.  This includes both initial and refreshers.  
A refresher course shall be completed annually to maintain accreditation and licensure.  If a training 
course certificate has been expired for more than one year from the expiration date, the applicant 
shall retake the initial course.  It is the applicant's responsibility to keep their training course certificates 
current. The Department will verify all training course certificates, submitted for licensure, with the training 
course provider before a license is issued.  It takes approximately fifteen working days to process a 
license.  
 
Renewal of licenses - An applicant shall submit a current IDPH accredited refresher course certificate. 
 All license renewals are due December 31 of each year.  A $15.00 late fee will be required if the renewal 
application is received January 1 or after.    
 
Reinstatement of licenses  - An applicant whose license has been expired for more than one year 
may apply to the Department for reinstatement.  The applicant shall meet the requirements of a new 
applicant and submit a reinstatement fee of $50.00 in addition to the $25.00 application fee. 
 
Reciprocity - Out of state residents applying for licensure in Illinois for the first time,  may submit U.S. 
EPA or other state accredited training course certificates and meet the requirements of a new applicant.     
 
It is required by law (5 IlCS/100/10-65 (c) of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act,  amended 
by P.A. 87-823 that individual licensees certify whether they are more than 30 days delinquent in 
payment of child support.  All  applicants shall comply with this Act.  Applicants shall complete 
and sign the child support statement.  Failure to complete this statement will result in an 
incomplete application, and a delay in issuing the license.  Making a false statement may place 
you in contempt of court.   
 
The Public Information Disclosure form accompanying this application must be completed and returned 
to this office to allow the Department to release your contact information.  ONLY those asbestos workers 
who complete this form and return it to this office will be included in Department lists. The Public 
Information Disclosure form is incorporated into all license applications and training course provider 
approval applications to address the release of contact information to the general public.  
 
Failure to provide all of the requested information will result in delay of the license.  Please submit all 
applications to the Illinois Department of Public Health, Asbestos Program, 525 West Jefferson Street, 
Springfield, Illinois 62761. If you have any questions, please contact the Asbestos Program at (217)782-
3517,  for the hearing impaired only (TTY# 800-547-0466).  
 
Applications and instructions are published on the Internet at 
  WWW.IDPH.STATE.IL.US/ENVHEALTH/EHHOME.HTM  


