Adequate Health Care Task Force Tuesday, May 9, 2006 Meeting Summary 10:30 AM – 4:00 PM

Illinois Public Act 93-0973, formerly House Bill 2268, creates the Health Care Justice Act and encourages the State of Illinois to implement a health care plan that provides access to a full range of preventive, acute, and long-term health care services; maintains and improves the quality of health care services offered to Illinois residents, and meets other criteria. The Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) is required, subject to an appropriation or availability of other funds, to enter into a contract with an "independent research entity" experienced in assessing health care reforms, financing, and care delivery models. The provisions of this legislation establish an "Adequate Health Care Task Force" with 29 voting members: five to be appointed by the Governor, and six appointments made by each of the four leaders of the General assembly (the Speaker of the House and the House Minority Leader, and the President of the Senate and the Senate Minority Leader). The Directors of the Departments of Public Health, Public Aid, Aging, and Insurance, along with the Secretary of the Department of Human Services, are to be invited to meetings of the "Adequate Health Care Task Force," but are not included in the Task Force's membership. The Department of Public Health is required to be "the primary agency in providing administrative support" to the Task Force.

This legislation provides for public hearings in each Illinois Congressional District, and a website detailing the work of the Task Force, accessible through the Governor's internet home page, is to be established and maintained. Printed copies of Task Force information are to be made available for persons who lack access to the Internet website. A Task Force report, detailing recommendations for a health care access plan as specified within the legislation, is to be submitted to the General Assembly by March 15, 2006. The bill encourages the General Assembly to consider legislation enacting the Task Force recommendations by December 31, 2006. The Act took effect July 1, 2004.

Task Force Members in Attendance: Craig Backs; Catherine Bresler; Colleen Kannaday; Jan Daker; Margaret Davis; J Terry Dooling; Jim Duffet; Dr. Arthur Jones; David Koehler; Dr. Wayne Lerner; Dr. Niva Lubin-Johnson; Pamela Mitroff; James Moore; Mike Murphy; Tracy Printen; Kenneth Robbins; Joe Roberts; Ruth Rothstein; Gregory Smith; Ken Smithmier; Dr. Quentin Young

Regrets (Task Force Members): Dr. Anthony Barbato; Kenneth Boyd; Timothy Carrigan; Rep. Elizabeth Coulson; Sen. Iris Martinez; Joseph Orthoefer; Sen. Donne E Trotter

State Agency Representatives: Ralph Schubert, Department of Human Services; Joe Hylak-Reinholtz, Department of Health Care and Family Services

Illinois Department of Public Health Staff: Elissa Bassler; David Carvalho; Mike Jones; Sherry Sherman; Sarah Duggan

Research Entity: Gwyn Davidson, Navigant Consulting

Guests: Dr. Steffie Woolhandler, Harvard Medical School; Stephanie Becker, Health and Disability Advocates; Kathleen Stoll, Families USA; Alan Weil, National Academy for State Health Policy; Sonya Schwartz, National Academy for State Health Policy;

- The meeting was called to order at 10:40 am by Dr. Wayne Lerner, Chair. Task Force members, IDPH staff and guests then introduced themselves.
- Dr. Steffie Woolhandler, Havard Medical School, presented to the Task Force regarding single payer programs.
- Pamela Mitroff, President, Pamela D. Mitroff Consulting, Inc. and Task Force member, presented the Private Market Policy Proposal to the Task Force.
- Stephanie Becker, Health and Disability Advocates and Kathleen Stoll, Families USA, presented the Consumer Health Care Access Proposal to the Task Force.
- David Koehler led the Task Force in utilizing Interest Based Negotiation exercise to establish the interests of the Task Force regarding the Health Care Justice Act.
- David Carvalho gave a research entity update.
- Dr. Wayne Lerner discussed upcoming Task Force meetings.

Meeting was adjourned at approximately 3 p.m.