
ELIGIBILITY FOR DEATH RECORD

Before request for an uncertified or certified copy can be considered, you must specify
your eligibility to obtain it. Illinois law states that copies of death records may be issued
only as listed below:

Upon the specific written request for a uncertified/certified copy by a person, or his
duly authorized agent, having a genealogical (record must be over 20 years old),
personal or property right interest in the record.

If you are eligible, please indicate on the application your relationship to the person
registered and the intended use of the copy. Return the application to the Illinois
Department of Public Health with the proper fee.

SEND TO

Illinois Department of Public Health
Division of Vital Records

605 W. Jefferson St.
Springfield, IL 62702-5097



FULL NAME OF First Middle Last
DECEASED

PLACE OF Hospital City or Town County State
DEATH

DATE OF Month Day Year SEX RACE OCCUPATION SOCIAL SECURITY 
DEATH NUMBER

DATE LAST KNOWN Month Day Year LAST KNOWN MARITAL STATUS
TO BE ALIVE ADDRESS

DATE OF Month Day Year BIRTHPLACE NAME OF HUSBAND
BIRTH (City and State) OR WIFE

FULL NAME OF FATHER FULL MAIDEN NAME OF MOTHER
OF DECEASED OF DECEASED

Illinois Department of Public Health
APPLICATION FOR SEARCH OF DEATH RECORD FILES

The state began recording death records on January 1, 1916.

The fee for a certified copy of the death record is $17. Additional copies of the same record ordered at the same time are
$2 each. The fee for an uncertified (genealogical) copy is $10. Additional copies of the same record ordered at the same
time are $2 each.

A certified copy is a sealed photographic copy of the original death certificate suitable for all legal purposes.

An uncertified genealogical copy is a photographic copy of the original death certificate not suitable for legal purposes.

_______________________________________________ _______________________________________________
YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO PERSON INTENDED USE OF DOCUMENT

CERTIFIED COPY   $17.00 Each

Amount enclosed $___________
for_______________copies

GENEALOGICAL RESEARCH (Uncertified copy)
Record must be more than 20 years old.

Amount enclosed $___________
for_______________copies

Make check or money order payable to ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH. DO NOT SEND CASH 

APPLICATION MADE BY MAIL COPY TO (if other than applicant)

NAME (written signature) NAME

STREET ADDRESS STREET ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CITY STATE ZIP

MAIL TO Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Vital Records, 605 W. Jefferson St.,
Springfield, IL 62702-5097, 217-782-6553
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