STATE OF ILLINOIS TASK FORCE ON HEALTH PLANNING REFORM BYLAWS AS ADOPTED JANUARY 31, 2008

ARTICLE I

Membership:

Section 1-1. The 19 members of the Task Force on Health Planning Reform (the "Task Force") are appointed by the Director of the Department of Public Health (the "Department"), President of the Senate, Minority Leader of the Senate, Speaker of the House of Representatives, the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives and the Attorney General (the "Appointing Authorities"), in accordance with Section 15.5 of The Illinois Health Facilities Planning Act ("the Act"). (as amended by P.A. 95-005)

Section 1-2. Members shall serve until August 1, 2008. Vacancies in membership shall be filled by the corresponding Appointing Authority.

Section 1-3. The following persons, or their designees, shall serve, ex officio, as nonvoting members of the Task Force: the Director of Public Health, the Secretary of the Illinois Health Facilities Planning Board, the Director of Healthcare and Family Services, the Secretary of Human Services, and the Director of the Governor's Office of Management and Budget.

Section 1-4. Absent Task Force members may be represented by surrogates, who may participate in Task Force meetings but are not entitled to vote or to receive reimbursement.

ARTICLE II

<u>Meetings:</u>

Section 2-1. Regular meetings shall be scheduled by the Task Force. It shall be the responsibility of the Department to give notices of the location, date and time of said regular meetings to each member of the Task Force at least ten (10) days prior to each of the said meetings.

Section 2-2. Special meetings may be called by the Co-Chairs, in accordance with the Open Meetings Act. It shall be the responsibility of the Department to give notices of the location, date and time of said regular meetings to each member of the

Task Force at least ten (10) days prior to each of the said meetings.

Section 2-3. A meeting may be rescheduled by the Co-Chairs.

Section 2-4. All Task Force meetings shall be open to the public unless a meeting or portion thereof qualifies for a closed session in accordance with the Open Meetings Act. Minutes of Task Force meetings shall be kept in accordance with the Open Meetings Act.

Section 2-5. The Co-Chairs shall work with the Director of the Department, or the Director's designee, to prepare an Agenda of business scheduled for deliberation prior to each meeting. The approval of Minutes from the previous meeting shall be included on each Agenda. The Agenda shall be distributed to the members of the Task Force at least five days prior to a scheduled meeting.

ARTICLE III

Task Force Officers:

Section 3-1. A member of the Task Force appointed by the President of the Senate and a member of the Task Force appointed by the Speaker of the House shall serve as Co-Chairs of the Task Force. The Co-Chairs shall have the duties and responsibilities described in these Bylaws.

Section 3-2. If a Co-Chair's membership on the Task Force is vacated for any reason, or a Co-Chair resigns from that office, the other Co-Chair shall serve as Chair until the appointment of a new Co-Chair by the appropriate Appointing Authority.

ARTICLE IV

Conducting Business:

Section 4-1. A quorum shall be present in order to convene the Task Force and conduct business. A quorum shall consist of a majority of the appointed members (*i.e.*, 10 members). A hearing of the Task Force shall be conducted as may be determined by the Task Force. A member of the Task Force is present to conduct business if attending a meeting in person, or by audio or video conference.

Section 4-2. All business shall be conducted in accordance with the current edition of <u>Robert's Rules of Order</u>, unless otherwise specified in these Bylaws.

Section 4-3. Each Task Force member shall have one vote on each motion. Except as otherwise provided in these bylaws, all motions shall be passed by a majority vote of the members present.

Section 4-4. The Co-Chairs shall preside at all Task Force meetings. In the

absence of both Co-Chairs, the Task Force shall appoint a presiding officer for that meeting, by majority vote.

Section 4-5. The presiding officers shall be responsible for conducting the meeting in accordance with the Bylaws and the Agenda, and may recognize nonmember attendees who wish to comment during the meeting. The duration of public comments shall be at the presiding officers' discretion.

Section 4-6. A vote of 12 members appointed to the Task Force is required with respect to the adoption of recommendations to the Governor and General Assembly and the final report required by Section 15.5 of the Act. Any number of members of the Task Force may submit a minority report of up to 50 pages.

ARTICLE V

Committees:

Section 5-1. The Co-Chairs may form standing or ad hoc committees of the Task Force, at a meeting of the Task Force. In addition, the Co-Chairs may establish any advisory committees to ensure maximum public participation in the Task Force's planning, organization, and implementation review process. If established, advisory committees shall (i) advise and assist the Task Force in its duties and (ii) help the Task Force to identify issues of public concern.

Section 5-2. The Chair of each committee shall be a Task Force member, appointed by the Co-Chairs. The Co-Chairs shall be responsible for selecting the members of the committee. Persons who are not members of the Task Force may serve as members of a Committee.

Section 5-3. The Committee Chair shall promptly notify all Committee members and the Department of all dates, times and locations for all regularly scheduled, rescheduled or special meetings of the committee.

Section 5-4. All committee meetings shall be open to the public unless a meeting or portion thereof qualifies for a closed session in accordance with the Open Meetings Act. Minutes of committee meetings shall be kept in accordance with the Open Meetings Act.

Section 5-5. A quorum shall be present in order to convene a committee and conduct business. A quorum shall consist of a majority of the members of the committee. A member of a committee is present to conduct business if attending a meeting in person, or by audio or video conference.

Section 5-6. All committee business shall be conducted in accordance with the current edition of <u>Robert's Rules of Order</u>, unless otherwise specified in these Bylaws.

Section 5-7. Each committee member shall have one vote on each motion. All motions shall be passed by a majority vote of the members present.

ARTICLE VI

Remuneration and Reimbursement:

Section 6-1. Each Task Force member, while serving on business of the Task Force, shall receive actual and necessary travel and subsistence expenses while so serving away from their places of residence.

Section 6-2. Members of the Task Force shall be subject to the Travel Regulations promulgated by the Illinois Travel Regulation Council.

Section 6-3. Members of the Task Force shall not be entitled to compensation for participation in the activities of the Task Force.

Section 6-4. For the purpose of travel expense reimbursement, expenses incurred by Task Force members participating singly, or as a unit of the whole, or as a total Task Force, shall be considered to be official business of the State and of the Task Force when such expenses are incurred as a participant in the following activities:

- (a) Regular and special meetings of the Task Force.
- (b) Committee meetings of the Task Force.
- (c) Hearings authorized by the Task Force.

ARTICLE VII

<u>Bylaws:</u>

Section 7-1. Adoption or amendment of these Bylaws requires a two-thirds vote of the Task Force members present and voting. Amendments shall be proposed at a meeting of the Task Force and voted upon during the next subsequent meeting.