Illinois Vital Records - Birth, Death, Marriage, Civil Union, Dissolution and other records Contact Us
 
Birth Records

<< BACK   Frequently Asked Questions
   

Birth records are not public records and only the following are entitled to receive certified copies:

  • The person named on the record if 18 years or older.
  • The parent(s) shown on the record.
  • A legal guardian or legal representative of the child. Written evidence of guardianship or legal representation is required.

Uncertified copies may be available for genealogical researchers and others on a restricted basis; please visit the Genealogical Research section for more information.

NOTICE: Due to the large volume of phone calls and requests, please allow 30 days from the date your check cleared the bank before inquiring about the status of your request. If contacting this office by phone, please know the hold time for correction/amendment callers could be around 30 minutes.

   
FORMS

Application for Search of Birth Record Files

Application for Search of Birth Record Files of a Deceased Individual

Application for Search of Birth Record FIles of a Deceased Infant

Application for Gender Reassignment

Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request

Ordering Information
     
       

Birth records can be obtained from the Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH), Division of Vital Records or from the county clerk's office in the county where the birth occurred. (List of county vital records Web sites or county clerk addresses) Records filed prior to 1916 can be obtained from the county clerk's office in the county where the birth occurred.

The IDPH, Division of Vital Records offers two types of certified birth records that are suitable for all legal purposes.

  • A certified copy or "long form," the most readily recognizable record, is an exact copy of your birth certificate as prepared by the hospital. The fee for this record is $15 and $2 for each additional copy of the same record requested at the same time.

    Please note: Current processing time on mailed requests for CERTIFIED COPIES ONLY is approximately three to four weeks from the date the request is received. (This does not include mail delivery time to and from this office.)

  • A certification or "short form" is a computer abstract (summary) of your birth information in an 8 " X 7" size. The certification may include parent information depending on your year of birth. The fee for this record is $10 and $2 for each additional copy of the same record requested at the same time. (If the record is to be used for passport purposes, the passport office requires all birth certificates submitted to contain the parent information, the $15 certified copy.)

When ordering a birth record, you will need to provide the following information:

  • the child's full name at birth;
  • date of birth;
  • the city and county where the birth occurred (including hospital, if known);
  • the name of the parent(s) shown on the record, including the mother's maiden name; and
  • a legible/readable copy of your valid photo identification card. If not provided, unreadable or expired, the request will be returned unprocessed.

Birth records can be ordered online, by mail, by fax or in person.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

LINKS

Vital Records Act
Illinois Vital Records Code (rules)
County Vital Records Web Sites or County Clerk Addresses

 
925 East Ridgely Ave., Springfield, IL 62702