Illinois Vital Records - Birth, Death, Marriage, Civil Union, Dissolution and other records Contact Us
 
Birth Records Birth Records

<< BACK   Frequently Asked Questions
   

Corrections to Birth Records

Illinois law allows for corrections to birth records. In most cases, additional documentation and a state of Illinois affidavit and certificate of correction are required. Illinois law also directs that corrections to birth records be made with interlineation. This means a line is drawn through the information being corrected and the new information is placed above or beside. An amended date is also placed on the record. The fee for a change, addition or correction is $15 and includes one certification of your birth record (a computer summary of your birth information). Additional copies of the same record, ordered at the same time, are $2 each. Make check or money order payable to Illinois Department of Public Health.

Corrections can be requested by either a parent listed on the birth record if the child is a minor, the child if older than 18 years of age or a legal guardian. A legal guardian must provide a certified copy of the court appointed guardianship papers. A copy of a non-expired, government issued photo ID must be included with the request.

NOTICE: Due to the large volume of phone calls and requests, please allow 30 days from the date your check cleared the bank before inquiring about the status of your request. If contacting this office by phone, please know the hold time for correction/amendment callers could be around 30 minutes.

Please note: Current processing time on mailed requests for ANY CORRECTIONS OR CHANGES to birth and death records that contain the appropriate fee and ID is between 8 and 10 weeks from the date the request is received.

   
FORMS


Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request


     
       

Every situation is unique. The items listed below are only general guidelines for amendments. Your situation may require additional documentation and/or a court order. Illinois law allows this office to reject any documentation to protect the integrity of the vital record.

FIRST AND/OR MIDDLE NAME OF THE CHILD

If the child is younger than 1 year of age; this change can also be requested by the hospital of birth if the hospital made the error when creating the birth record. The Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request form needs to be completed. The request must be submitted with photo IDto this office and the amendment completed before the child is 1 year of age. There is no fee in this situation; however, an amended birth record is not furnished to the requester unless a fee is submitted. Only one change can be made to this part of the child's name without additional documentation and a fee being required.

If the child is older than 1 year of age; the Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request form, photo ID and the fee are required. You must submit proof of the requested amendment through documentation. Acceptable documentation includes

  • school records such as a report card or admission records
  • a marriage record
  • child's birth record
  • baptismal record
  • dated Social Security records (not a copy of your Social Security card )
  • the original handwritten worksheet from the hospital of birth (If it supports the requested correction, the worksheet can be used as proof. The hospital can send this document directly to this office.)

Any documentation submitted must have been created prior to the age of 19.

If documentation is not available as proof of the requested change, then a court order of legal name change is required. You should contact your local court system.

LAST NAME OF THE CHILD

To amend the last name of a child requires the Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request form, photo ID and the fee. If the child's last name is misspelled and that child has the same last name as a parent listed on the birth record, a copy of that parent's birth record is required. In some situations, a copy of the parents' marriage record or an older sibling's birth record also can be used. The document submitted must have been created prior to the birth of the child. If the original handwritten worksheet from the hospital of birth supports the requested amendment, a copy of this document can be submitted as proof. The hospital can send this document directly to this office.

If a Voluntary Acknowledgment of Paternity form, administrative order of paternity or court order of paternity has been completed, you can, within one year, make one change to the child's name. THIS IS ONE YEAR FROM THE DATE THE VOLUNTARY ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF PATERNITY WAS SIGNED OR PUBLIC AID OR THE COURTS ESTABLISHED PATERNITY. IT IS NOT ONE YEAR FROM THE DATE THIS OFFICE COMPLETED THE CHANGES ON THE BIRTH RECORD. The Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request form, photo ID and the fee are required. Both parents separately must complete the affidavit. If either parent is not willing or unavailable to complete the affidavit, then a court order of legal name change is required.

If a court order of non-paternity was previously submitted to this office, then a court order of legal name change is required to change the child's name.

CHILD'S DATE OF BIRTH

To amend the date of birth requires medical records from the hospital of birth. If hospital no longer has that information, then a statement as to such from the hospital is needed. At that time, this office will advise you as to what documents can be submitted. If you were born at home, this office will advise you as to what documents can be submitted. The Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request form, photo ID and the fee are required.

MOTHER'S AND/OR FATHER'S FIRST AND/OR MIDDLE NAME

If the child is younger than 1 year of age; the hospital of birth also can request this amendment if the hospital made the error when creating the birth record. This only applies to omissions and spelling errors. An example of a spelling error is Tracy to Tracey NOT Jane to Janet. The Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request form needs to be completed. The request with photo ID must be submitted to this office and the amendment completed before the child is 1 year of age. There is no fee in this situation; however, an amended birth record is not furnished to the requester unless a fee is submitted. Only one change can be made to this part of a parent's name without additional documentation and the fee being required. If the request is for more than a spelling error or omission, documentation, the Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request form, photo ID and the fee are required.

If the child is older than 1 year of age; the Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request form, photo ID and the fee and a notarized statement as to why the name was given incorrectly are required. A copy of the mother's and/or father's birth record(s) is required. A copy of the original handwritten worksheet from the hospital of birth also can be used as proof to support the amendment. The hospital can send this document directly to this office. In some situations, a court order is required to correct this item.

For example, either parent was using an alias at the time of birth, a court order is required to make this change.

MOTHER'S AND/OR FATHER'S LAST NAME

The Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request form, photo ID, a notarized statement as to why the name was given incorrectly and the fee is required. A copy of that parent's birth record is required. If the original handwritten worksheet from the hospital of birth supports the requested amendment, that document can be used as proof. The hospital can send this document directly to this office. If the parent's birth record is not available, this office will advise you as to what documents can be submitted. This item may require a court order to amend.

For example, either parent was using an alias at the time of birth, a court order is required to make this change.

SEX OF THE CHILD

If the child is younger than 1 year of age; this change also can be requested by the hospital of birth if the hospital made the error when creating the birth record. If the child's name is of obvious gender such as Mary Elizabeth or John Peter, then only the Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request form needs to be completed. If the child's name is not of obvious gender, such as Courtney or Sydney, then documentation and the Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request form are required. The request must be submitted with photo ID to this office and the amendment completed before the child is 1 year of age.  There is no fee in this situation; however, an amended birth record is not furnished to the requester unless a fee is submitted.

If the child is older than 1 year of age; and if the child's name is of obvious gender, such as Mary Elizabeth or John Peter, then the Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request form, photo ID and fee are required. If the child's name is not of obvious gender, such as Courtney or Sydney, then medical records from the time of birth, the Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request form, photo ID and the fee are required. If medical records are no longer available, a statement from the hospital as to such is required. Then, a copy of a biological child's birth record can be submitted as proof.

COURT ORDERED LEGAL NAME CHANGE

The Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request form, a certified court order, photo ID and the fee are required. A certified court order can be obtained from the court that originally completed the legal name change.

ADDITIONAL ITEMS

Requests for amendments to items not specifically listed above can be initiated by submitting an Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request form, photo ID and the required fee.

Requests are responded to in the order in which they are received. Please note: Current processing time on mailed requests for ANY CORRECTIONS OR CHANGES to birth and death records that contain the appropriate fee is between 8 and 10 weeks from the date the request is received. To expedite your request, submit it through any type of an overnight delivery service, include proof of immediate need and a prepaid overnight delivery return envelope. It will then be treated as a rush and responded to in approximately 15 business days. Items considered as proof of immediate need include the following:

  • A copy of a travel itinerary
  • A copy of plane tickets
  • A statement from an insurance agency on their letterhead indicating that coverage will be cancelled or someone cannot be added without a birth record.
  • A statement from a school on their letterhead indicating that a child will not be allowed to attend school without a copy of the birth record
  • A statement from a place of business indicating that the person will not receive employment or will have to leave employment without a copy of the birth record.
  • Notice from immigration authority/agency that a birth record is required.
  • A statement from a place of business indicating that a person will not receive employment or will have to leave employment without a valid driver’s license and indication that the birth record is required to obtain the driver’s license.

PLEASE NOTE: corrections or changes to a birth record cannot be completed by phone, fax or e-mail. If you contact this office, we can only advise you of the procedure you must go through to complete the change or correction.

Illinois Department of Public Health
Division of Vital Records
925 East Ridgely Ave.
Springfield, IL 62702-2737

 

Frequently Asked Questions

LINKS

Vital Records Act
Illinois Vital Records Code (rules)
County Vital Records Web Sites or County Clerk Addresses

 
925 East Ridgely Ave., Springfield, IL 62702