{short description of image} Contact Us
 
Death Records

<< BACK   Frequently Asked Questions
   

Corrections to Death Records

Changes can be made to correct errors or omissions in death records, but typically not without supporting documentation. Illinois law requires that these changes be shown on the face of the birth and/or death record by lining through the incomplete or incorrect information and inserting corrected information adjacent to that item. This process is called interlineation. Thousands of records are amended this way each year and the certified copies are acceptable wherever a birth and/or death record is required.

The documentation and forms for correcting a death record varies from situation to situation. When these additional items are required, the appropriate forms and a letter explaining what other documents are needed will be mailed to you.

NOTICE: Due to the large volume of phone calls and requests, please allow 30 days from the date your check cleared the bank before inquiring about the status of your request. If contacting this office by phone, please know the hold time for correction/amendment callers could be around 30 minutes.

   
FORMS


Application for Search of Death Record Files

Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request

     
       

To start the process of correcting or changing a birth and/or death record, complete the Affidavit and Certificate of Correction Request form with as much information as you can provide. We will advise you regarding the requirements to complete the change by return mail. PLEASE NOTE: corrections or changes to a death record cannot be completed by phone, fax or e-mail. If you contact this office, we can only advise you of the procedure you must go through to complete the change or correction.

The fee of $15 for a correction includes one certified copy of the corrected record. Additional copies of the same record requested at the same time are $2 each. Make checks or money orders payable to the "Illinois Department of Public Health" (Do not send cash) and send the application and fee to:

Illinois Department of Public Health
Division of Vital Records
925 East Ridgely Ave.
Springfield, IL 62702-2737

Current processing time on mailed requests for ANY CORRECTIONS OR CHANGES to death records that contain the appropriate fee and ID is between 8 to 10 weeks from the date the request is received.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

LINKS

Vital Records Act
Illinois Vital Records Code (rules)
County Vital Records Web Sites or County Clerk Addresses

 
925 East Ridgely Ave., Springfield, IL 62702