Illinois Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention
Heart Disease Stroke Health Care Professionals Fact Sheets Contact Us

Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations

Primary Stroke Center Certification

Click here to see a listing of Joint Commission certified stroke centers.

The Joint Commission's Certificate of Distinction for Primary Stroke Centers recognizes facilities that make exceptional efforts to foster better outcomes for stroke care.  Achievement of certification signifies that the services provided have the critical elements to achieve long-term success in improving outcomes.  It is the best signal to the community that the quality care provided is effectively managed to meet the unique and specialized needs of stroke patients.  In fact, demonstrating compliance with these national standards and performance measurement expectations may help to obtain contracts from employers and purchasers concerned with controlling costs and improving productivity.

The Joint Commission's Primary Stroke Center Certification Program is based on the Recommendations for Primary Stroke Centers, published by the Brain Attack Coalition, and on American Stroke Association statements to evaluate hospitals functioning as primary stroke centers.  

For further information on the Joint Commission Primary Stroke Center Certification Program or to request, please call 630-792-5291.  A listing of disease-specific certified organizations.

Stroke - Performance Measurement

Standardized Stroke Measure Set

Deep Vein Thrombosis (DVT) Prophylaxis 

Discharged on Antithrombotics

Patients with Atrial Fibrillation Receiving Anticoagulation Therapy

Tissue Plasminogen Activator (t-PA) Considered

Antithrombotic Medication Within 48 Hours of Hospitalization

Lipid Profile During Hospitalization

Screen for Dysphagia

Stroke Education

Smoking Cessation

A Plan for Rehabiliation was Considered


Stroke Performance Measurement Implementation Guide
December 2004

Go to the Guide

Effective October 1, 2004, all organizations seeking Joint Commission Disease Specific Care (DSC) Certification for stroke must use a set of standardized performance measures in order to meet the performance measurement requirements for certification.  Detailed information on the Joint Commission's DSC stroke measures is available in the Disease Specific Care Certification Program Stroke Performance Measure Implementation Guide.

All organizations seeking Disease Specific Care Certification for Stroke are required, at a minimum, to collect and use data for the first four standardized measures in the set in order to meet the performance measurement requirements for stroke certification. 

Designated organizations certified in Disease Specific Care for Stroke have been selected and are participating as pilot sites in the stroke measure pilot project, for which data must be collected on all 10 measures within the set.  The pilot is being conducted from October 1, 2004 through September 30, 2005, starting with October 1, 2004 discharges. 

Organizations seeking DSC Stroke program certification that have general questions about the performance measurement requirements and/or the standardized stroke measures should e-mail



Fact Sheets

Heart Attack

Stroke is a Brain Attack


High Blood Pressure



Physical Activity


doctor with patient

Who is at Risk?

Can I Reduce My Risk?

Heart Disease and Stroke HomeIDPH Home